week 4 Task 1 (A-B)

1A

Analytic Essay Writing

Online sources containing information about analytic essays

– Meirow, Eden. “This Analytical Essay Outline Will Kick Start Your Writing.” Kibin Blog. N.p., 8 Dec. 2014. Web. 11 Apr. 2016.

“How to Develop and Write an Analytic Essay:.” How to Develop and Write an Analytic Essay:. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Apr. 2016.

“OnlineSpeechWriting.” Understanding The Essense Of Analytical Essay Writing. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Apr. 2016.

“Analytical Essay.” Hints for Faster Writing. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Apr. 2016.

“Differences between Descriptive and Analytical Essays.” The WritePass Journal. N.p., 15 Mar. 2013. Web. 11 Apr. 2016.

 

What an analytic essay is and how to approach writing it

An ‘analytic essay’ is a form of academic writing which discusses and analyses a specific idea from a chosen text such as a novel, painting, poem or film. Analytic writing is different to other forms of writing in the way that it uses a formal tone, ideas are generally straightforward and presented in a concise manner and does not try to convince the reader to agree with a given perspective.

It is important to consider the basic structure of an analytic essay during the planning stages, in order for ideas to be mentioned efficiently. This involves an introduction; the opening paragraph to both draw the reader in, containing a thesis sentence stating specifically what ideas are going to be expanded upon during the analysis.  Next are the body paragraphs; usually only three are required but more can be added if necessary. Here the idea is broken down further and discussed more specifically while supported by evidence from the text. Lastly comes the conclusion, where the reader senses the essay is coming to a close. To do this; the main points are mentioned again and the ideas are briefly related beyond the text to the real world.

1B

Brief response to questions (activity 16, pg 76)

“Different approaches to planning and organising your writing” (Creme and Lea 72) all have their advantages and disadvantages. Most approaches either fall under the category of a shorter process that may risk skipping over important information or a longer process meaning there are too many irrelevant aspects mentioned because the writing process is so thorough. My own approach is most like “the architect writer” (Creme and Lea 76) because using diagrams and annotations is important to me when planing my writing. My own personal method differs though, because I see aspects of my own work ethic in all of the listed approaches, making it harder for me to narrow myself down to one. This is because during my writing process I use a range of methods which change depending on how well I know what I am talking about, and how much research is required.

 

Description of my own essay planning and organisation 

For example; when writing a major essay (and if time is not a factor), I begin by reading and researching widely around my given topic until I am confident enough to explain it using my own words.  During my research process I highlight and make annotations, before moving on to creating mind maps which help to form a rough plan and have more ideas to work with and link together. Sometimes I feel the need to make a more concise plan to go by while I write. I often edit as I go, pausing sometimes to re-research certain concepts, then revisit my draft essay until I am satisfied it is ready to be properly presented in a standard essay format.

 

Essay Planner/s I identify most with 

As stated above, I identify most with the “architect writer” (Creme and Lea 76) due to my habit of using brainstorms and mind maps, and how they play such a big part in my essay writing. Other writing styles that I work similarly to include the “grand plan writer” and the “patchwork writer”. I found it useful to read about alternative methods that others use to write essays because it broadens my thinking. It also provides another way of writing which may benefit me later, should I choose to adopt a new process in the future.

 

Bibliography

  • Creme, Phyllis, and Mary R. Lea. “Reading as Part of Writing.” Writing at University: A Guide for Students. Maidenhead: McGraw-Hill Education, 2008. (71-76) eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 12. April. 2016.

 

Leave a Reply

